The #CookForFamily Initiative – More Than 100 Singapore Food Bloggers To Cook For Their Families

The #CookForFamily initiative has attracted more than 100 Singapore bloggers to take part! When I first started this, some had told me 20 was enough, if I could get 80 I would very lucky, now there are over a hundred.

Interestingly, a recent research from Monash University, the National Defence Medical Centre, and the National Health Research Institute Taiwan has also found that people who eat home cooked food tend to live longer.

The study looked at the cooking habits of Taiwanese living independently aged over 65 years, and found that frequent cooking was a significant factor in their health and long life. Cooking at home helped in their mental and physical agility, these elders paid more attention to their nutrition.

The #CookForFamily Initiative
The #CookForFamily is a Singapore food bloggers initiative – there is no competition, sponsors, or hidden agenda involved. It is created with a simple objective of getting more bloggers, and hopefully their fans and followers, to start cooking and bonding with their families.

The bloggers have picked a day in July to cook a meal for their family or loved ones, and will blog, tweet and instagram about their cooking, experience and thoughts all on the same day – 6th August 2012 (Monday), with the hashtag #CookForFamily.

This is likely to be the first bloggers’ group initiative of its kind in Singapore.

The bloggers include singer Cheryl Wee (daughter of Jean Yip), actress Silver Ang, and even two bloggers from Hong Kong. Janice from Hong Kong says she is doing this because we lead such fast-paced lives and eat so much “good food” outside that we forget where our taste were developed – at home!

The 109 Bloggers Who Will #CookForFamily
365days2play (Dawn Huang) http://365days2play.com/
A Juggling Mom (Susan) http://ajugglingmom.com/
A Winsome Life (Melvin & Jacqueline) http://awinsomelife.org/
A&W Couple’s Blog (Abbey & Will) http://reviews-all.blogspot.sg/
Acquisition of Taste (Andy and Ashley) http://www.theacquisitionoftaste.blogspot.sg/
AiMakan (Hazel Tay) http://www.aimakan.wordpress.com
Alvinology (Alvin Lim) http://www.alvinology.com
An Escape To Food (HL Tay) http://www.teczcape.blogspot.sg/
AnythingAlsoEat (CY) http://anythingalsoeat.wordpress.com/
AromaCookery (Julia Khoo) http://www.aromacookery.com
AspirantSG (Wee Heng) http://www.aspirantsg.com/
Ate Too Much http://atetoomuch.blogspot.sg/
Calvin Timo http://calvintimo.com
Cheekiemonkie (Kelvin) http://www.cheekiemonkie.net/
Cheryl Wee Xin Hui http://cheryl-wee.blogspot.sg/
Chrispytine (Christine) http://www.chrispytinetoo.blogspot.sg/
Cloudy Windz http://cloudywindz.blogspot.sg/
Coffee Table People http://coffeetablepeople.blogspot.sg/
Cookieologic (Huijin) http://cookieologic.blogspot.sg
Cooksnapeatlove (Jacob Leong) http://www.cooksnapeatlove.com
Cuisine Paradise (Ellena Guan) http://ellenaguan.blogspot.sg/
Daniel’s Food Diary (Daniel Ang) http://danielfooddiary.com
Danny Love To Eat (Danny Tan) http://dannylovetoeat.blogspot.sg/
Darren Bloggie http://method86.wordpress.com/
Dominique’s Desk (Dominique Goh) http://dominiquegoh.com/
Double Image (Kevin Soh) http://double-image.blogspot.sg/
Dream2breakaway (Ying Zi) http://whirlwind-dreamz.blogspot.sg/
Dreamers Loft (Meg) http://dreamersloft.blogspot.sg/
E-tingfood (Janice Leung) http://e-tingfood.com
Fighting Fires & Baking Buns http://fightingfiresbakingbuns.wordpress.com/
Flora Yeo http://floraiyeo.com
Food Friend Or Foe (Brenda) http://monstrousappetites.blogspot.sg/
Food.Recentrunes (Ivan Ng) http://food.recentrunes.com/
Foodie Ah http://foodieah.blogspot.sg/
FoodieDC http://foodiefc.blogspot.sg/
Foodie’s Kitchen http://foodloverscreations.blogspot.sg/
Foodoshoot (Charlene Chew) http://missuschewy.com
G.Nome Chromosome http://morganscarlite.blogspot.sg/
Gastronautdiary (David Yip) http://gastronautdiary.blogspot.sg/
Gninethree (Charleen) http://gninethree.com
HazelHearts (Hazel) http://hazelhearts.wordpress.com/
HazelNutLife (Hazel Lam) http://hazelnutlife.blogspot.sg/
HerFelicity (Lirong) http://herfelcity.blogspot.com
HisFoodBlog (Rayner Ng) http://www.hisfoodblog.com
Hpility (Hong Peng) http://hpility.blogspot.sg
iisjong (Joey Ong) http://iisjong.blogspot.sg/
J Babies Dad (Isaiah) http://jbabiesdad.blogspot.com
Jessie Food Trip (Ong Meng Ching) http://jessiefoodtrip.blogspot.sg/
Justin Daniel Pereira (Gourmetestorie) http://www.gourmetestorie.com/
Keropokman (Philip Lim) http://www.keropokman.com
Lady J’s Musings (Joanne) http://j0annesim.wordpress.com/
Lazy Foodies (Kayyi) http://www.lazyfoodies.com
Le Petit Connoisseur (Stargirl) http://petitconnoisseur.blogspot.sg/
Life As I Know It (Juann) http://myfatpocket.com/judging-me/
Lobster Paints (Shi Ting) http://lobsterpaints.com
Lovin Greens (Huiyuan) http://huiyuan89.wordpress.com/
Luxury Haven (Shirley Tay) http://luxuryhaven.blogspot.sg/
Maameemoomoo (Sherie) http://www.maameemoomoo.com
Mamawearpapashirt (June) http://mamawearpapashirt.com/
Melicacy (Melissa Koh) http://melicacy.com
Memoirs Of Food (Daniel Hung) http://memoirsoffood.blogspot.sg/
Mint Leong http://mintleong.blogspot.sg/
Miss Tam Chiak (Maureen Ow) http://misstamchiak.com
Miss Tiffany (Tiffany Wong) http://www.missytiffany.com/
MissyGlutton http://missyglutton.blogspot.sg/
MoonBerry (Irene) http://blog.moonberry.com
Ms SkinnyFat (Cheryl Ng) http://www.ms-skinnyfat.com
Msfoodaholic (Karina Lee) http://ms-foodaholic.blogspot.sg/
Mummy Blogs (Sandra Tan) http://www.sanses.com/
Pengs Kitchen (Veronica) http://pengskitchen.blogspot.sg/
Perhaps Always (Samuel) http://perhapsalways.wordpress.com/
Pixieprodigy (Calvin Wong) http://pixieprodigy.wordpress.com/
Pling Thinks (Tracy Chua) http://plingthinks.com/
Priscias (Priscilla) http://priscias.tumblr.com/
Raising Rock Star http://raisingrockstar.com/
RubbishEatRubbishGrow (Nathanael Ho) http://www.rubbisheatrubbishgrow.wordpress.com
Rynaque http://www.rynaque.com/
Sakura Haruka http://www.sakuraharuka.com/
Sarahs Loft (Sarah Khaw) http://sarahs-loft.com/
Seng Kang Babies (Andy) http://sengkangbabies.com/
SgFoodonFoot (Derrick Tan) http:///www.sgfoodonfoot.com
Simple Happiness (Christina Teong) http://www.philchrischan.blogspot.sg/
SkiesofLove (Angie) http://skiesoflove.blogspot.sg/
Slurp (Jason) http://4-the-love-of-food.blogspot.sg/
Smithankyou (Smith Leong) http://www.smithankyou.blogspot.sg/
Story of Bing http://www.storyofbing.com
Super Adrian Me (Adrian Eugene Seet) http://superadrianme.com
Superfinefeline (Karen) http://www.superfinefeline.com/
Teru2xBozu Goes Hungry http://hungryteru2xbozu.blogspot.sg/
That Silver Girl (Silver Ang) http://thatsilvergirl.blogspot.sg/
The Dead Cockroach http://thedeadcockroach.blogspot.sg/
The Dessert Prince (Edward) http://thedessertprince.blogspot.sg/
The Dining Table (Javan) http://thediningtable.sg/
The Dirty Stall http://dirtystall.wordpress.com/
The Fatty Rie (Siew Lin) http://efatrie.blogspot.sg/
The Food Canon (Terry Wong) http://www.foodcanon.com/
The Food Recipe (Jozel) http://thefoodrecipe.com/
The Gingerbread Mum (Adora Tan) http://gingerbreadmum.blogspot.sg/
The Hungry Cow (LeRoy) http://www.thehungrycow.com
The Love of my Life, Little DinoEgg (Jenn Lim) http://augdinoegg.blogspot.sg/
The Super Girl http://www.thesuper-girl.com/
Twice As Delicious http://twiceasdelicious.com/
Velvet Chronicles (Nuramima) http://velvetchronicles.blogspot.sg/
Wokkingmum http://wokkingmum.blogspot.sg/
You Got Me Blogging (Razlan) http://www.razlan.net/
Yummy Koh (Chris) http://yummykoh.blogspot.sg/
Yumyumformytumtum (Peter Oh) http://yumyumformytumtum.com/

Thank you everybody!

Other Related Entries
Join The #CookForFamily Initiative
The #CookForFamily Update
The #CookForFamily Update – 97 Bloggers Have Joined!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

19 Responses to “The #CookForFamily Initiative – More Than 100 Singapore Food Bloggers To Cook For Their Families”

  1. August 5, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Hi Daniel, no no no you’re still not getting this right. I’m Missuschewy not Foodoshoot. *Exasperated* Lol just kidding.

  2. admin
    August 5, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Sorry, corrected! Sorry ah, I receive more than 100 emails on this, so need to sort out a little. Paiseh!

  3. August 5, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Looking forward to this.
    And hey, not all parenting bloggers are like the ones you mentioned about not cooking :P I for one am one who cooks. Although not very often but I’ve come to enjoy cooking and also I enjoy whipping up dishes cooked with love to nourish the body and soul of my family :)

  4. August 6, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Daniel should make this meaning event an annual affair :)
    We definitely had fun making our own breakfast.

  5. August 6, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Just stumbled upon this. Sounds like a worth initiative. Kudos!

  6. August 6, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Just stumbled upon this. Sounds like a worthy initiative. Kudos!

  7. August 6, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Wow……sounds interesting!

  8. August 10, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    Thanks for organising this very meaningful initiative.

  9. Sherri
    August 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Love this. Though most of the recipes shared here are non-vegan. For me simple vegan recipes posted on my facebook i cook for hubby starting this month. It’s definetly healthier and a blessing to eat homecook food:-)

  10. January 17, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Hi Daniel,

    I know this may sound crazy to implement but for the next one initiative can you link our posts as links in your blog?

    Anyway here’s my entry for this project: http://www.aspirantsg.com/foodie-food/aspirantsgs-cookforfamily-session-with-mom/singapore

    Thanks for organizing. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #CookForFamily – P | Twice as Delicious - August 6, 2012

    [...] part of the Cook for Family Initiative campaigned by Daniel, both K & I had some quality time in the kitchen whipping up a storm (ok, [...]

  2. The #CookForFamily Project « lady J's musings - August 6, 2012

    [...] The idea behind #CookForFamily? Most would agree that eating together with the family brings indescribable joy, along with bonding, quality time together and better relationships.  And as what most moms would say, “Home-cooked food is always healthier”. [...]

  3. Daniel’s cook-for-family initiative | Sengkang Babies - August 6, 2012

    [...] on August 6, 2012 by SengkangBabies Love our family, maybe cook for our family? Daniel from Danielfooddiary/ has gathered more than 100 bloggers to cook for their [...]

  4. Sarah’s Loft » Blog Archive » # C O O K F O R F A M I L Y - August 6, 2012

    [...] Daniel invited me to join the #COOKFORFAMILY Intiative and I immediately replied with a “Yes, I Want To Cook For My Family!”. It is a [...]

  5. Cook For Family | Quality Backlinks to increase your PageRank - August 6, 2012

    [...] a great way to bond with family. That’s why I’m most happy to join in fellow blogger Daniel Ang’s #CookForFamily [...]

  6. Simply Homecooked | MalMal Our Inspiration - August 7, 2012

    [...] is why when I read this initiative, I  thought this will be more appropriate for [...]

  7. Let's get Wokking!: Black Pepper Crawfish with Fried Garlic 蒜香黑胡椒小龙虾 | Singapore Food Blog on easy recipes - August 8, 2012

    [...] have cooked for my family in July.  This is one of the 3 dinners I have cooked in July for the #cookforfamily, as seen below. Well, I cooked almost everyday for my family, except it's not an everyday thing [...]

  8. #CookForFamily – P | Twice As Delicious - December 11, 2012

    [...] Us #CookForFamily – PPosted on August 6, 2012 by P • 0 CommentsAs part of the Cook for Family Initiative campaigned by Daniel, both K & I had some quality time in the kitchen whipping up a storm (ok, [...]

  9. #CookForFamily by Lazy Foodies | Lazy Foodies - December 13, 2013

    […] started by a blogger to bloggers, with one obvious objective. When Daniel (the mastermind) from Daniel’s Food Diary mentioned about the increasing rates of dining out due to busy schedules, I pleaded guilty […]

Leave a Reply

Partly powered by CleverPlugins.com